Special Award: Michael T. Porter For his contribution to the Closed-End Fund Industry

Thank you, Michael, for your very kind words. I am deeply and sincerely grateful to you, Nicolas and my friends at Capital Link for your and their consideration, courtesy and thoughtfulness in presenting me with this gorgeous plaque, especially in the presence of my Wife Prudence and my Mother, and amongst so many friends.

This recognition carries tremendous meaning because, as we can see around us, there are scores of bright, persevering, and diligent professionals in the closed-end funds industry. These range from lawyers, consultants, stock exchange officials and fund sponsors to investment bankers, research analysts and mutual funds reporters. During my 13 plus years as a country funds analyst, I benefited from their efforts, and the industry benefited from their efforts. Most importantly, individual and institutional investors benefited from their efforts, with more and better products available, as well as broader and more comprehensive research and media coverage.

I started my Wall Street career in 1987 at Drexel Burnham Lambert as a European Banking Analyst. In 1988, my boss Alan Benasuli correctly foresaw the vast retail and institutional appeal of country funds, and encouraged me to build a research product designed to capitalize on it. The product was an instant success. In 1989, when Sandy Weil hired Alan to become Smith Barney's director of research, I was his first or second hire, just in time for the breathtaking country funds boom that swept across America and saw these funds jump to the top of the stock charts. Alan is in the audience; I would like to ask him to stand so that we can acknowledge his role.