Other Events


National Bank of Greece

George Zanias is the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the National Bank of Greece and Chairman of the Hellenic Bank Association, since July 2012. Previously, he served as the Minister of Finance (2012), the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors (2009-2012), the Secretary General of the Ministry of Finance (2001-2004) and the Chairman/Scientific Director of The National Economic Institute of Greece (1998-2001).

In the above capacities, he was a member of the Eurogroup (2012) and of the Economic and Financial Committee (EFC) of the European Union and the Euro Working Group (EWG) of the Euro Area (2009-2012).

He has been a Director on the Boards of: the European Financial Support Mechanism (EFSF) (2009 - 2012), the National Bank of Greece (2010 - today), the Hellenic Exchanges (2000 - 2001) and the General Bank of Greece (1996). For many years, he has been employed as an expert by various international organizations.

He has studied economics at the Athens University of Economics and Business, and holds a Doctorate from Oxford University. He is Professor of Economics at the Athens University of Economics and Business where for several years he served as Chairman of the Department of European & International Economic Studies.