Bjorn Hojgaard
Chief Executive Officer
Anglo-Eastern Univan Group

Bjorn Hojgaard is the CEO of Anglo-Eastern Univan Group, one of the world's foremost ship management companies. Headquartered in Hong Kong, with over 25 offices across Asia, Europe and the Americas, Anglo-Eastern has more than 600 vessels under full technical management, another 200+ under crew management, and some 450 supervised newbuildings and conversions to its credit. The group manages and provides technical services to bulk carriers, container ships, tankers, and heavy-lift, offshore and other specialty vessels.

Bjorn's appointment at Anglo-Eastern Univan Group follows the 2015 merger with Univan Ship Management, where he was also CEO. Previously, he was Managing Director at Thome Ship Management, Brigantine Group and A.P. Moller Singapore, as well as Manager of Operations, Efficiency & IT for APM Terminals. A keen yachtsman and Master Mariner, Bjorn worked his way up through the ranks, from military service in the Royal Danish Navy to Captain of one of the largest container vessels in the A.P. Moller - Maersk merchant fleet, before moving into shore-side management.

A graduate of A.P. Moller - Maersk's prestigious MAESTRO programme, Bjorn also trained in executive leadership strategy and organisation at Stanford University's Graduate School of Business, Palo Alto, USA. He has served two terms on the Singapore Shipping Association's Council and as Chairman of its Technical Committee (2009-2011), delivering the SSA's draft proposal on piracy to the UN Contact Group on Piracy off the Coast of Somalia (CGPCS) in New York in June 2011. Presently, Bjorn is Chairman of the Hong Kong Shipowners Association, having sat on its Executive Committee since 2013 and served as Deputy Chairman from 2017-2019. He is also a council member of INTERTANKO, Chairman of the Maritime and Port Development Committee under the Hong Kong Maritime and Port Board, a member of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council's Logistics Services Advisory Committee, and a general committee member of The Sailors Home and Mission to Seafarers in Hong Kong.